Since DAEMON Tools Ultra 5, you can create file backups to protect your sensitive data. It allows you to copy files and folders to local or network storage; or use VHD and TrueCrypt containers to store the backed up data. Also, you can adjust the schedule for the backup tasks, so your files will be totally safe, but DAEMON Tools Ultra won’t bother you while working.

Before you go, you need to adjust one or several backup tasks. To create a new task, choose the relevant option from Tools menu. Here you will need to set the following options:

Create a new Backup task

  1. Define the Name of the task. It will be used for notifications.
  2. Choose the source of the files to backup.
  3. Define which files from source should be copied. Note that new files added to source will be backed up automatically.
  4. Click Next button to switch to other settings.

Create a new Backup task

  1. Choose where to store the data you back up. It may be a folder, a VHD or a TrueCrypt container. If you choose the VHD or the TrueCrypt, you will need to create these disks on the next step. Follow the links, to learn more about these types of files and their creation.

  2. Adjust the Schedule — when the backup task should start:

    • Daily at a certain time
    • Weekly from a certain date and time
    • Every several minutes, hours or days
    • On shutdown of the operating system
    • Not scheduled option creates the backup task without exact time and date. It can serve as a template for future backup tasks and you can edit the schedule any time later

    We do not recommend to use the On shutdown for large amount of data, because the backup task is active only during approximately 3 minutes due to operating system limitations, so not all files may be copied if there many of them.

  3. Check Start task immediately after saving to back up data after the task creation.

  4. Check Mirror deletion to remove files from the destination after they are deleted from source.
  5. Check Start as soon as possible if the schedule is missed option if the back up time already passed and you want to save the data immediately.
  6. Check Overwrite changed files option in case you don’t want to save the file editing history.
  7. Check Set e-mail notifications option if you want to get mails when the task is started and / or finished. More options should be defined in this case.

    You choose the outgoing mail server for the notifications by yourself. If it is not set yet, Preferences will be opened after you check Set e-mail notifications option. Here you will need to define the server, port, sender, login and password for the outgoing mails. And you can send a test mail to check if the settings are correct.

    Create a new Backup task

    After you set the mail server, you need to choose the recipient address (or several ones) and when to send the emails:

    Create a new Backup task

If everything is adjusted, click Start button to create a new task. In a few seconds, you will be redirected to Images tab with Backup Tasks opened where you will see the short description for the newly created task.

Create a new Backup task

Using the task context menu, you can:

  • Edit… task if you need to change the schedule or options. Note that you won’t be able to change the Destination for this task;
  • Start now to launch the task immediately;
  • Disable the task if you don’t want it to launch on the next start; or Enable otherwise;
  • Remove the task completely;
  • View logs...: each launch and successful or failed completion of the current task ;
  • Open source folder to look through the files to back up;
  • Open destination folder to look through the backed up data. Note that this option is not available for VHD or TrueCrypt disks.